Home > Meditation Types > All About Chakra

All About Chakra

By: Jeff Durham - Updated: 24 Sep 2012 | comments*Discuss
Chakra Energy Chakra Healing Yoga

‘Chakra’ is a Sanskrit term meaning ‘wheel’ and those who practice Chakra healing or meditation believe that in balancing each of our Chakras, it keeps us physically, mentally and spiritually healthy. In fact, practitioners of Chakra would say that it is the energy imbalance of our Chakras that cause us to become ill or play a part in any negative emotions we might be feeling.

How Is Chakra Meditation Practised?

Chakra is one of the few forms of meditation that doesn’t require you to sit with your legs crossed. You can be in a horizontal or vertical position but you must keep your back straight as you will be focusing on different areas of your spine. Relax and take some deep breaths first. Imagine each chakra wheel (there are 7 altogether) running straight down your spine from the top of your head (the crown chakra) all the way down to your coccyx area (the root chakra). Each chakra resonates with a different colour. The basic idea is to work through each chakra for a few minutes, visualising each colour associated with the specific chakra as a ball of light or energy and also to create a mental picture of the wheel that spins in a clockwise direction which is balancing itself. Many practitioners will begin at the root chakra and work their way up but there are many different techniques.

What Are The Colours Associated With Each Chakra And What Do They Mean?

  • Root Chakra – Colour red. Location coccyx. This area is concerned with your survival instincts as well as helping in keeping you grounded and making you feel more secure. If unbalanced, it is said to lead to problems with obesity or constipation and you’re more likely to suffer from problems with your legs
  • Second Chakra – Colour orange. Location kidneys. This area covers sexual satisfaction and creativity, your nurturing instincts and your desire for food. If unbalanced, it is said to lead to problems with the reproductive system or your kidneys, lower back pain and bladder problems
  • Third Chakra – Colour yellow. Location solar plexus. This covers areas such as the ego, accomplishments, freedom and control and if unbalanced it is said to lead to emotional disorders such as depression and physical ailments pertaining to diabetes, liver problems, ulcers and other stomach problems
  • Fourth Chakra – Colour green or pink. Location heart. It governs areas such as your ability to show love and compassion and is often said to be the most important area given that it focuses on your heart and lungs. If unbalanced, it is said to lead to heart problems and problems with blood pressure and circulation
  • Fifth Chakra – Colour blue. Location throat. It covers areas such as the ability to communicate truthfully and to freely express yourself to others. If unbalanced, it is said that it can affect your ears, nose and throat and can cause thyroid problems.
  • Sixth Chakra – Colour Indigo. Location forehead (the third eye). This governs things like intuition, thought, psychic awareness and the ability to reduce stress and balance the mind. If unbalanced, it is said that it can affect your eyes and nose and can cause headaches and other problems within the nervous system
  • Seventh Chakra – Colour Violet or White. Location crown of your head. This governs wisdom, truth and helps to connect you to the universe on a spiritual level. If unbalanced, it is said that it can create problems with depression, confusion and issues with your spiritual learning and growth

The Use Of Crystals In Chakra Meditation

Some people find that holding the correct corresponding chakra crystal in their hand helps to focus the mind when practising chakra healing or meditation in order to better visualise the colours and the spinning wheel. Others find that combining Reiki helps too.

However, whilst firm advocates of chakra healing believe that balancing the chakras helps to keep them healthy on an emotional, spiritual and physical level, it is not meant to be a substitute for conventional medical treatment. Therefore, you should contact your GP if you are experiencing any worrying symptoms.

You might also like...
Share Your Story, Join the Discussion or Seek Advice..
Why not be the first to leave a comment for discussion, ask for advice or share your story...

If you'd like to ask a question one of our experts (workload permitting) or a helpful reader hopefully can help you... We also love comments and interesting stories

(never shown)
(never shown)
(never shown)
(never shown)
Enter word: